Community

July 31, 2010 at 11:00 am 3 comments

Today I woke up early to the sound of a distant rooster crowing, wrote in my journal, read some great poetry, attended a group yoga class that made me feel amazing, and then shared a meal with a dozen other people who love live plant foods.  Paradise!  This experience has reminded me how lovely it is to be a part of a support system, regardless of what your individual goals may be.  As achieving high levels of health and well being is my personal goal, being in the midst of others pursuing the same transforms what would otherwise be a stressful and inconvenient task into a beautiful and effortless adventure.

After almost three years of eating only raw plant foods, I have certainly had experience of living consistently without any semblance of a raw community.  Though I have been blessed with a family that supports my strange dietary pursuits wholeheartedly (while teasingly offering me cheeseburgers), there is something very helpful about having others share in the process.

I did not truly have a raw community until I met my Vibrant Maine friends and we started getting together a few times a week for raw potlucks.  Having them in my life has been so incredible, and has made my raw journey significantly less lonely.  Bronwyn would whip up an amazing original raw soup, Alexis would have delectable salad, raw bread and a spread, Jaime would handle desserts fabulously, I’d make Blazin’ Hot Chocolate or a smoothie, and we’d all share homemade kefir and kombucha.  There would be laughter, and then more laughter.

What could be better than great conversation at a shared meal with friends?  Sometimes when we choose to pursue something unconventional, our old communities don’t seem to fit as well.  This is fine and natural – change and personal evolution is a beautiful thing.  Fortunately, we can find and attract new communities to either replace or supplement the old.  In my opinion, though when we are determined we can achieve something on our own, there is no reason to impose a solitary healing path upon ourselves.  We can gain new ideas from others’ unique perspectives and supportive understanding from those who share our values.  So reach out!  Find a group that already exists or create one in your area.  There is no good reason to do it alone.

With love,

Lara

Entry filed under: Lara. Tags: , .

Violet Tea for Humidity Buckwheat: The Gluten-Free and Delicious Alternative

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl Dill  |  July 31, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    I’m so happy to hear that you are happy and thriving so far. I miss you. I’m on my third full day gluten free which for some reason has ended up meaning much more eating raw! Sending you a big hug across the country. 🙂 Mom

    Reply
  • 2. vibrantmaine  |  July 31, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Thanks Mom! I hope gluten-free living makes you feel amazing. Feel free to use my vitamix for smoothies, soups, juices or salad dressings! I miss you too. 🙂 Love, Lara

    Reply
  • 3. Jodie Chapman  |  August 9, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Lara,
    Your words about community touched me so much that I shared them in my weekly email note to my Nia students teach once a week. I was inspired to suggest that once a month after class, we meet for coffee or tea!

    Thank you for sharing.
    Take care and hug Alexis for me!
    Jodie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Tweetin’ From Maine


