Purple is the new green

February 23, 2010 at 10:00 am 2 comments

Some days my green juices are purple.

Purple Juice & Flower Friend

It was beautiful, local purple cabbage from my Laughing Stock Farm winter CSA* box that turned my purple green.  Full of flavonoids, calcium, vitamin C & E, as well as a source of protein, what I love best about purple cabbage is that it is purple.

Pretty simple, right?  I try to make sure that I have lots of variety in the color of foods that I get to enjoy because diversity in food means strength in health.  Keeping my meals colorful means I get to eat food that is as bright as the clothes that I wear on the outside.

I like to think I am keeping everything in a fabulous rainbow balance.

*More on CSAs or Community Supported Agriculture in upcoming posts!

Entry filed under: Alexis. Tags: , .

Episode 5 – Five Milks in Five Minutes! Rainy Noise – Noisy Rain

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tammy McLeod  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I love purple juice! I juice purple cabbage with green apples and a bit of lime and the indol3 in it are great for fighting disease. Thanks for posting.

    Reply
    • 2. vibrantmaine  |  February 23, 2010 at 5:15 pm

      Ooo – some lime would be delish!

      And hurray for another CSA supporter!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Tweetin’ From Maine


