Lara’s Raw Journey

February 9, 2010 at 9:41 pm Leave a comment

I am always interested to find out how and why people get involved in the living foods lifestyle.  Some start eating raw to cure a scary disease; some find it to be the ideal way to finally shed unwanted pounds for good; others simply yearn for more profound levels of health and find the concept of living foods to shine with common sense.  Today I thought I would share my raw story with you.

Partly due to my high metabolism, I grew up thinking I could get away with eating anything I wanted.  I had pancakes with butter and sugar for breakfast, macaroni and cheese for lunch, some type of meat and white bread or pasta for dinner, and frequently a great deal of ice cream for dessert.  I occasionally had fruit, but vegetables were mostly limited to the iceberg lettuce in a Caesar salad or the tomato sauce on my cheese pizza.

Fortunately, my body did not put up with this terrible treatment for long.  By the time I was thirteen years old I was battling numerous health ailments, including hypoglycemia, PCOS, frequent migraines, severe joint pain, chronic fatigue, depression, hormonal imbalances, chronic digestion difficulties, etc.  I was also getting bronchitis and strep throat several times a year.  It pains me now to think about how many antibiotics I took during those years, contributing to full body Candida issues as well.

For years I was shuffled between doctors who all told me there was nothing they could do AND that what I ate would make no real difference.  One doctor even told me that I should not exercise as he had a theory that I had a virus in my muscles.  This meandering around in helplessness started to get old, so I decided to finally take my health into my own hands.

I read several books on alternative medicine and nutrition.  Over time I started to make little changes to my diet, adding more healthy whole foods and avoiding the highly processed “food” I had eaten freely before.  I noticed that my body had more energy and got sick less often.  Even so, I still experienced most of the same health ailments as before, just to a lesser degree.

During the autumn of 2007, I found myself losing my appetite for the foods I had always enjoyed.  I remember standing in a kitchen with a full pantry, famished, and unable to find anything I wanted to eat.  This was strange for me, as I had always had a rather ravenous appetite.  Animal products had also started to be unappetizing to me, both for taste and due to a gnawing concern for the ethical implications of eating animals.

After about a week of barely picking at food, I decided to wander aimlessly around the local health food market in hopes of finding something to fill my aching stomach.  As I listlessly rolled my cart around, something incredible happened: the raw foods section jumped out at me as though it was glowing in Technicolor amidst an otherwise bleak and gray background.  As though in a dream, I picked up a prepared raw sunburger meal, purchased it, walked out to my car and inhaled the entire thing (decorative lettuce leaf and all) immediately.  I felt alive for the first time in awhile.  A week later, when I finally realized my body was craving only raw fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds, I felt a huge weight lift off of my shoulders.  Without so much as a last cooked meal, I became immediately 100% raw overnight.  It was only then that I did the research to find out why it is such a healthy way to live.

I would not necessarily suggest that anyone else make such a drastic and immediate change in diet.  My main point is simply to listen to your body; it will tell you what it truly craves if you give it the space to speak.

Happy Vibrant Eating!

Lara

Entry filed under: Lara. Tags: .

Windy and Wonderful Kelp Noodle Adventure! Raw Living Quick Tip #2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Tweetin’ From Maine


